

Illinois State Police Office of Firearms Safety CCL Appeal Requirements/Checklist

Firearms Prohibitor – CCL Other Than CCLRB Denial Pursuant to: 430 ILCS 66/87 and 20 III. Admin. Code 1231.170

Instructions: If your Concealed Carry License (CCL) was revoked or suspended or your CCL Application was denied due to an identified firearm prohibitor, you may appeal the decision to the Illinois State Police. You are NOT required to appeal at this time; however, when you do so, the information listed below must be provided:

□ 1. If your CCL was revoked or suspended, the first step in seeking relief is to surrender your CCL to your local law enforcement agency. This should have been completed within 48 hours of the revocation consistent with 430 ILCS 66/70(g).

If your CCL was denied, you may skip this step.

- □ 2. Once you have completed step one, within 60 days of receipt of the notice that your application was denied, or your license was revoked or suspended, you must complete a Request for CCL Administrative Review form, which can be obtained on the Office of Firearms Safety Website at the Forms and Checklists tab.
- If you inadvertently answered yes to one of the eligibility questions, you will need to submit a CCL Application Inadvertent YesAnswer Affidavit, which can be on the Office of Firearms Safety Website at the Forms and Checklists tab.

The Department may request any reasonable documentation related to the determination for relief.

Please Note: You are encouraged to use this as a checklist because the appeal process will not begin until the Department has received all of the necessary documentation. It is your responsibility to provide or arrange for the requested documents to be provided to the Department. Upon receipt of all of the documents requested, your application will be actioned. Submission of the above documents does not guarantee the granting of relief; however, it is required to begin the review process. Unfortunately, the Department is unable to provide a time frame for when the review will be complete; nevertheless, you will be notified once the decision has been made or if additional information is needed.

Documentation must contain your full name and date of birth and be sent to:

Illinois State Police Office of Firearms Safety 801 South Seventh Street, Suite 600-S Springfield, Illinois 62703-2487 Or by email at: ISP.CCL.Appeals@illinois.gov